THE NAME OF JESUS

Jesus. What does this name mean to you? Is it a name you call out to in time of trouble? Is it a name that you see in a quote that makes you empowered? Is it a name you sing?

Or is Jesus a name that means so much more?

Jesus is not just a name. Jesus is a person. God’s son. He’s Perfect. Holy. Sinless.
Jesus is love. He’s life. He’s not just a figure. He’s real. And He’s there for you.

He lived a perfect, holy, sinless life here on earth. He suffered temptation. He suffered scoffers. He suffered beatings. He suffered the cross, one of the worst kinds of death. Jesus knows when you are struggling. He knows what your a struggling with. He knows, because he has been in your place. And He is there for you, because He cares about you.

“Then said Jesus unto them again, Verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep.
All that ever came before me are thieves and robbers: but the sheep did not hear them.
I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.
The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.
I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep.
But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep.
The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep.
I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine.
As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep.
And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.
Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again.”
John 10:8-17
Jesus is the Good Shepherd. He cares for His sheep. In one of Jesus’ parables, he talked about a shepherd who had one-hundred sheep. One of them had gone astray, and the shepherd cared about that sheep. He went and looked for that lost sheep, even though he had ninety-nine other sheep to care about.

If one of his followers goes astray, he will go and save them, and bring them back into his fold.

Romans 8:29 says, “For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren;”

​God chose us before the world began. He saved you from the sinful lusts and desires of the world. Our purpose and goal in life is to glorify Jesus and give Him praise.

But that’s not all.

Why did God predestine us? To become conformed to the image of His Son.​
We need to strive every day to be like Jesus.

​The best way to do that is to be in His Word, the Bible, everyday. We need to study it. We need to know it. We also need to pray. Praying is talking with God. Share your struggles, share your needs. He’s there for you. He’s omniscient. He knows everything.

He is all this, because He is God. The creator of the universe. The very maker of you and me. It’s His creation. He’s the creator.

So let’s not just use the name Jesus as a mere title. When we say it, let’s remember how great our God is.​

One thought on “THE NAME OF JESUS

Leave a comment